Using a wiki for your to do list

I’m working toward getting my personal and work life more organized, which I think in the long run will add to my sanity and keep my life less hectic. With three active kids and a husband, two dogs, and a love for doing just about anything I can think of, I could get out of control real fast. One thing that is important to me is to keep my desk clear of clutter. Also, every day I read through and empty my email inbox (I’ll tell you more about that next week), and sketch out a TO DO list for the next day. Even if I don’t get everything done, I feel a sense of order when I start my day. That is a good thing.

There are oodles of tools out there that can help you create to do lists. Some of these are free web-based tools, others are web-based that charge a fee, and still others are programs that need to be installed on your computer or an online server. Check out some of these below:

I looked at a few of these tools, and while they are very good, they seem to get a bit complicated. I wanted something quick and easy to simply jot down ideas as they came down and organize them into tasks. I decided simply to set up a wiki just for this purpose–my personal notebook where I can easily enter this information. So that’s my system. Below is a screen shot of my home page. If you click the image, you’ll go to the actual site (which I’ve made public). Remember, you can always make wikis private, if you don’t want others to view them. You have a lot of choices here.

wiki todo

I’m using wikispaces, but you can of course, use any wiki software. Wetpaint is Memo’s favorite (his Collection Management Wiki) and PBWiki is a favorite of another of my techie friends. Try out a wiki for this purpose, especially if you’ve never used a wiki before. That way, you can experiment, see what wikis do, and then perhaps think of ways you can use them in your class.

As always, post comments to this and let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Using a wiki for your to do list

  1. Yeah the key is just finding the right system for yourself and wiki’s or even old fashioned paper are perfect for some people.

    I created tweeto for my personal use as I just wanted to make a list of tasks and not care about due dates and all the bells and whistles other list applications had. It works great for me as it’s built to be just what I need, but will never be perfect for everybody.

    Like

Leave a Reply

