Easy photo viewing with flickr

One of the things I am really becoming used to in this new interactive age is the ability to upload just about anything for free and to use these storage spaces to access stuff from any computer. I find that invaluable, since I work on and from multiple computers. I really don’t like it when I want something that happens to be on another computer. As Pooh would say, “Oh, bother!”

Enter the world of photo uploading, blogging, and sharing. I like flickr.com (my kids and husband like photobucket), but whatever you like and works for you, then use that. Embedded within this blog posting is a set of photos that were taken during our recent Faculty Mashup here at Boise State. It was easy as pie to upload these photos in bulk (I use the Flickr Uploadr). However, when I tried to insert the code from the HTML badger generator in flickr, I ran into troubles, since I believe that WordPress strips out javascript code. So, I found this neat tool called “The Ducky,” which generates scriptless flickr badges: http://flickrbadge.theducky.com/index.php. (If this doesn’t make any sense to you, don’t fret. Just know that flickr can generate cool code for you to embed in your web page or some blogs that creates a nice looking html or flash-based album or set of pictures.) Following is how The Ducky presents my pictures hosted on flickr.com:

Scriptless Flickr Badge
Scriptless Flickr Badge
Scriptless Flickr Badge
Scriptless Flickr Badge
Scriptless Flickr Badge
Scriptless Flickr Badge
Scriptless Flickr Badge
Scriptless Flickr Badge
Scriptless Flickr Badge

Pretty cool, huh? Try out flickr.com and the different tools. Definitely download the Flickr Uploadr, which will allow bulk uploading and reformatting of pictures.

Leave a Reply

