SideBar as default tab in pbwiki

Okay, I realize that today’s posting will not have as large of an audience as some of my blog writings, but I really feel obligated to release this information. As most of you know, I am a wiki evangelizer–I BELIEVE IN WIKIS. They are just too versatile, too darn easy, and too efficient to ignore. And best of all, they are free. What could be better?

Well . . . maybe just a few little tweaks here and there. For instance, here is a good thing and a not so good thing. PBwiki includes a neat little sidebar widget that sits on the right hand side of each of your pages. It includes three tabs, with one of the tabs (called SideBar) being a place where you can create your wiki navigation structure–a pretty important piece of information! However, when one goes to your wiki, the default tab that appears is the QuickStart tab. A user may not even know to click the tab that says “SideBar” to view the wiki’s navigation structure. What I wanted for my pbwiki is for this SideBar to be the default tab that will show when going to my wiki. And I found out how to do this.

With a little bit of googling (maybe about 15 seconds), I found the code to put into the SideBar page. All you need to do is go to your SideBar page, edit it, select Source to view the source code, and then insert the following code at the beginning of the page:

<script type=”text/javascript” src=”http://widget.pbwiki.com/f/widget_lib.js”></script&gt; <script>widget.onDocLoad(function(){showSidebar(‘sb_sb’)})</script>

Here’s what my nav bar looks like when a visitor goes to one of my wikis (check this one out at http://boisebarbara.pbwiki.com)

pbwikinav

I think this is a very helpful tweak to an otherwise excellent wiki platform. Try it out and see what you think. And of course, write me with other pbwiki helpful tweaks. For now, I am all tweaked out.

Leave a Reply

