Yes, Virginia, you CAN right click on an Apple mouse (Mighty Mouse, that is)

Okay, I’ll admit it . . . I’ve been using Apple computers now for about 3 years and I just now realized that Apple’s neat little “Mighty Mouse” can be configured to enable right clicking. On the surface, Apple’s Mighty Mouse is almost seamless, but underneath its smooth white shell are various clicking capabilities. Leave it to Apple to design a beautiful device that works. I am also hooked on its teeny tiny scroll ball that is super-easy to use. Maybe it’s just that the Mighty Mouse fits in my hand, I don’t know, but it feels right. It’s smooth, compact, and yeah . . . good-looking. It also includes side buttons you can squeeze to open Expose, Apple’s answer to viewing all of your open windows on one screen.

But I’m getting side-tracked . . . back to the right click feature. To enable right clicking so that you can view what Apple now calls the “short cut menu,” you need to select System Preferences>Keyboard and Mouse and then select “Secondary Button” on the right-hand side of the Mighty Mouse. This will enable right clicking on your mouse, even though there is no actually visible right click button.

Mighty Mouse

So, when I right click on a folder, for instance, a short-cut menu appears, providing me with some other options on what I want to do with that folder.

shortcut menu

(Also know that to right click on an Apple on your keyboard, you select the control key and then click your mouse at the same time. You’ll get the hang of it, believe me.)

Apple’s Might Mouse is a work of art, I would say. I’m just sorry it took me this long to figure it out. (Actually, I found out about it through reading a book on the new iMovie 08. But that’s another story.)

One thought on “Yes, Virginia, you CAN right click on an Apple mouse (Mighty Mouse, that is)

  1. Thanks a lot. I myself just converted over a week ago. I am hooked. I laughed at the fact that it took me so long to switch over.
    I must admit however that I missed the right click feature. I write code and I needed the feature bad. When I found your blog it was like mana. Thanks a lot.

    😉 Samoko

    Like

Leave a Reply

