Step-by-step tutorials for creating videos

When you start writing a blog like this, you need to be committed to:

  1. writing about meaningful, interesting technology tools for faculty and staff in a language they can understand
  2. staying up to date on technology and constantly trying out new tools
  3. posting every day

Have I ever drawn a blank about what to write about? No. There is SO MUCH out there concerning the uses of technology in learning that I actually can either write ahead of time or need to make a list so I can eventually get to that someday. But here’s the ultimate upside of what happens sometimes when I research to prepare for writing a post: I find stuff that is valuable to me, too, and sometimes just in time. Here’s an example:

An article in the new issue of Popular Science caught my eye about online alternatives to view TV shows. After going to the first site mentioned in the article, which was in beta and was only accessible through invitation, I discarded that idea. I went to the next site listed and again didn’t think this would be worthwhile to write about. However, I found something even MORE interesting from looking at the second site . . . an online guide including step-by-step instructions with corresponding narrated videos that explained simply and succinctly how to shoot, create, edit, and publish videos. Not only would this be good to write about for others, but it was SOMETHING I COULD USE IMMEDIATELY to help me construct a face-to-face workshop I need to plan for next week! Hallelujah!

Here is the URL of the main page, where you can navigate to the different areas, depending upon what you are looking for: http://makeinternettv.org

Don’t let the “Internet TV” prevent you from looking at these tutorials. It’s more about how to create a good video and how to use the software editing tools (Microsoft Movie Maker and Apple iMovie) to capture, edit, and format your video. If you want to find out how to create, edit, and publish a video in easy to understand and simple language, then this series of tutorials is for you.

One of the things I also like about this resource is that you can download the videos to your computer instead of waiting for them to stream. There is a handy MP4 download link on the lower right hand corner of each video you can click to download the video file to your computer. That way, you can watch them multiple times and not have to wait for them to download from the URL link.

iMovie tutorial

So, whenever I’m looking for an idea or something to write about for this blog, I’m fully prepared to get sidetracked and find something even better and more useful. You should be too.

Leave a Reply

