New from Google Apps: Google Sites

google sitesWell, I told you I was going to write a lot about wikis for the next week or so, but I didn’t know that there would be some BIG NEWS in the world of wikis. The BIG NEWS is that Google announced on February 28, mind you, that their reincarnation of JotSpot was ready and is now called Google Sites. This very interesting looking wiki software is available through Google Apps, a paid, hosted version of their very well-known Google docs shared applications.

Take a look at the Google Sites link and some of the examples. The websites look very slick, and the first thought that came to my mind was “Student ePortfolios.” Google Sites just looks like a great all around website tool, and I can’t wait to use it. But wait . . . I don’t have a Google Apps account. Can I use the Google Sites software without one? I’m going to do some more investigating, but for the average user, it appears that Google Sites is only available through the paid Google Apps suite of applications.

Will Boise State students be able to use Google Sites? I’m thinking the answer to this is YES, since students will be switching to the Google email and other applications by the end of this semester. I’ll try to find out more about this and report back to you, but if this is the case and BSU students can use Google Sites (along with all of the other Google Apps enterprise tools), we will have some very happy (and creative) students.

Stay posted for more information. In the meantime, read this article, watch this video and let me know what you’ve found out about this very cool-looking tool.

Leave a Reply

