An end to keyboarding?

No, you have not gone to the wrong blog. I just decided it was time for a change, so switched to another theme. I hope you like this one, but if not, let me know. Not that I will change it or anything. 🙂

Speaking of change, how about trying out a software that has had its ups and downs, but may finally be getting its act together–voice recognition software. I’ve never tried voice recognition software because everything I read about it sounded way too hard for me. Imagine, too hard for me! That’s scary. Well, I may have changed my mind based upon what I read in another person’s blog (Andy Garcia from Ziff Davis Enterprise). The software is Nuance’s Dragon NaturallySpeaking and Andy writes about it in his post:

After performing next to no research at all, I decided to buy Nuance’s Dragon NaturallySpeaking because 1) I had heard of it, and 2) the Preferred version promised transcription of MP3 files, which would allow me to transcribe those pesky interviews.

Thanks to Amazon Prime’s discount on one-day delivery, I had the software in hand the next day. Installation and initial training of the software took under an hour, and now I am writing using (mostly) only my voice, as I am still working out streamlining a combination of voice and one-handed editing. First impression — pretty cool.

So far, what I actually find the most difficult when using the software is knowing what I’m going to say far enough in advance to form together a cohesive sentences and paragraphs that the software can better understand and punctuate. I guess that will come with time.

I assume I will be using the software frequently over the next several weeks as the finger heals, so I am sure I will have more things to say about the software later. But right now, I think I’ve found a godsend.

Wouldn’t that be cool to be able to easily transcribe recordings, especially for research? Or how about recording your lectures and using this software to create a transcript for, you guessed it, people who cannot hear very well or at all? I’m thinking someone out there needs to do some research on this, especially for accessibility issues. When you start using our iTunes U platform, for instance, you can upload your audio file, but also can upload a pdf file. So, theoretically, you could use Dragon NaturallySpeaking to transcribe your podcast, save that as a pdf file and upload it to supplement your podcast. And this wouldn’t only be for accessibility concerns, but also might serve as an additional handout for study. Think of the possibilities!

Technology just doesn’t let our brains rest, no matter how hard we try. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

