You're back and I'm gone!

CoachWelcome back from spring break! However, I’ll be out of the office until Monday, April 7. I’m at the Educause Western Regional Conference in San Francisco for the next three days, and then I’m going to see my parents for a long-overdue visit. So for this conference in San Francisco, I’ll be participating in a panel discussion on wikis (are you surprised?) with two other people from Occidental College. Just to attest to the power of wikis, we have never met, but we put together our presentation and materials through using a (you guessed it!) wiki!!! You can view our wiki that has evolved into its current form at http://wikipanel.pbwiki.com

On this site you can view our papers and PowerPoints (saved as pdf files), just to see what we’ll be talking about. Occidental College (they shorten it to “Oxy”) used a wiki to create training materials and other resources with student technology assistants (STAs, the same name we call ours). They’ll be talking about that experience, what they learned. I’ll be talking about how three faculty members at Boise State use wikis, what they learned, the challenges they encountered, and provide a list of best practices for effective wiki use in education.

So, I’ll keep you posted on what I’m learning here and how the presentation went. I’ll also post some pictures of San Francisco, too. Again, welcome back!

Leave a Reply

