Ubuntu: It will grow on you

I just read an article written by Jason Brooks of eWeek on April 24, 2008, where he writes a glowing report of the new release of Ubuntu, a free, open-source Linux OS distribution. I have tried various distros of Ubuntu during the past 2 years and have always been impressed with its ease of use and efficiency. Because it’s Linux-based, you don’t need to worry about virus attacks, and its streamlined operating system allows it to run very fast. It includes all of the tools just about any student would need, and again, I would like to see how it compares to using Windows in a school district. It would be an important study.

The new Ubuntu 8.04 version is ready to download and can be obtained either through an online download or by requesting a free CD. Here’s the website with more info to download the desktop version: http://www.ubuntu.com/news/ubuntu-8.04-lts-desktop

If you want to know more about Ubuntu, you might also check out its FAQ page: http://www.ubuntu.com/aboutus/faq

Ubuntu is available for PC, 64-Bit and Mac architectures. At least 256 MB of RAM is required to run the desktop install CD. Install requires at least 4 GB of disk space. Brooks tested

Ubuntu is an African word meaning “Humanity to others,” or “I am what I am because of who we all are.” It is pronounced “oo-BOON-too” and it will grow on you once you start using it.

One thought on “Ubuntu: It will grow on you

  1. I started using Ubuntu two semesters before I graduated from college, and I absolutely love it. The only snag I ran into was that my printer was not supported, but I never used it much anyway. If I had to print something, I just did it at the school. I have done web and graphic design on it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

