Getting Organized with Evernote

Okay, I am truly back. After expending many woman hours packing, moving, unpacking, and organizing boxes, I feel a bit more settled. Moving from one house to another is a lot of work . . . emotionally and physically, but I feel as though I’ve made the transition. And, by the way, I LOVE my new house. But this move has taken a big chunk out of my blog writing schedule. I used to be really organized writing to this blog. I COULD make a zillion excuses, but the fact remains . . . I need to get back on track and organized. So, starting today I plan to write every weekday to this blog. Once you write it down, it’s a commitment . . . right? 🙂

So, let’s get started.

Today I want to tell you about a pretty cool tool that should help everyone GET ORGANIZED. (This is one of my favorite themes!)

A really great online and offline tool that can help you get organized is called Evernote (http://evernote.com). Evernote allows you to easily capture whole or parts of web pages, images, write notes, record narration, or just about any other type of electronic bits and bytes. Following are some ideas on how to use Evernote.

How to use Evernote if you are a student:

  • If you are in a lecture, for example, you can take a picture of the blackboard with your phone, upload it to the Evernote server, and thanks to Evernote’s clever OCR algorithms, even pictures of handwritten notes become instantly searchable.
  • You can also use it to bookmark web pages and write down your own lecture notes. Best of all, you can use a web app, a Windows or Mac desktop app, or a Windows Mobile and iPhone app, all of which seamlessly synch with each other, so that your notes are always up to date. (You can download the free Evernote software to your computer to use offline, too, and then sync later when you are online.)
  • You can upload voice recordings to Evernote, to remind yourself of stuff that pops into your head at the most inopportune moments

You might wonder, well, I can just write my notes down in Word and save that file. Well, you COULD, but this sytem allows you to easily post, tag, and then search for all kinds of content. It’s an organization system that might be just your ticket. Try it out and see. Go to evernote.com and set up a free account. Start getting organized. Now.

Leave a Reply

