Convert videos with HandBrake


Image via Wikipedia

The more I use technology, the more I expect to find a tool to accomplish just about anything. My first inquiry is usually to perform a Google search. From there, I investigate the options.

A while ago I was working on a project for a faculty member, helping her post videos and other multimedia to a Google Site. I was stumped when I realized some of the videos she had provided on a CD were in a format I couldn’t use–formatted to play automatically on a DVD player. At first I thought I wouldn’t be able to do anything more with these but thought, what the heck, I’d do a search about this problem. Within a few seconds I found a great software tool (multi-platform, open-source, and free) that could convert just about any type of audio or video file to a format that could be published to an online service or website: HandBrake (http://handbrake.fr)

The software downloads quickly and is super-easy to use. All you need to do is browse for your file and select the type of file format you want it converted to. HandBrake will put it in a queue and tell you when it is ready. Their logo is an umbrella and fruit-studded cocktail and when your file is ready, a cute little window appears, telling you to put down your cocktail.

I’m not sure what a handbrake has to do with a cocktail, but the logo is easy to remember. So, the next time you are looking for a quick, easy, and free software tool to convert a video file, think of cocktails and handbrake. I think you will really appreciate this helpful tool.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

