No Cable Satellite? No Problem–Get it on Your Computer with ESPN3


Image via Wikipedia

The Thanksgiving holiday is just around the corner, which means lots of good food, friends, family, and FOOTBALL. But what if you don’t have access to a television? No problem, says ESPN.com, which has been aggressively advertising its online access. All you need is a high-speed Internet connection and an account (which is free), and you can access live sports content right on your computer. To get started, go to http://espn.go.com/espn3 and create an account. ESPN3 is available nationwide, but you must subscribe to a participating high speed Internet service provider. ESPN3 is also free on college campuses and military bases! And I don’t know exactly how this works, but you can also enable remote access, which allows you to access ESPN3 content when you are away from home if you sign in with your ESPN.com account.

Once you sign in to espn3, you can access anything that is playing live. It’s streaming video, so the picture breaks up from time to time, but I must say the quality is darn good.

And get this–you can watch thousands of live games and events streaming on ESPN3 with your Xbox LIVE Gold membership. Predict the winners on your Xbox and then watch the game with the Xbox LIVE community. You can even use your Kinect to navigate ESPN3 and ESPN.com content with voice and gesture control.

Another cool feature of watching ESPN sports online is you can connect and talk with others watching the same show in a chat room. You can also rate shows and other content on the site.

I will warn you that it’s easy to get lost on this site. I started clicking around, investigating various links, and before I knew it, I had no idea how to get back to the main home page, where you can access FAQs, for instance.

ESPN also has a ton of iPhone apps available to track your favorite sports team, for instance, and get instant updates and play-by-play action. I just downloaded ESPN ScoreCenter on my phone and added the Boise State Broncos as one of my teams to track. Yeah, I’m a football fan. And if I’m ever in a situation where I don’t have cable/satellite to watch football, then I know I can access it on my computer through ESPN.com. GO BRONCOS! and have a GREAT Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

