Update on Blackboard Contract

Good News!

I’m delighted to report I will be meeting with Mike Rush, the Executive Director of the Idaho State Board of Education, to find out more about the decisions behind the Blackboard contract. I look forward to this meeting and possibly discussing some ideas for offering another Learning Management System (LMS) for Idaho teachers and students.

He also informed me he never received my initial email inquiry, which explains why I never heard from him. Of all people, I should remember to never rely exclusively on email. I accept the blame on that one.

It’s impressive how the State of Idaho, along with the other Idaho institutions worked together to obtain a substantial discount on the Blackboard licensing fees. Many people worked long and hard to obtain these accommodations, and they should be commended for their efforts.

Time for Two LMSs?

So now, maybe the State has enough money left over from this line item to include another LMS! That would be excellent.

As always, I appreciate your comments and ideas. And I will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

